Johnny Marr Releases "Upstarts" Music Video

by Damian Fanelli
Posted Jan 20, 2013 at 6:52pm

Johnny Marr, the former Smiths, Cribs and Modest Mouse guitarist, has posted a new music video for "Upstarts," a track off his upcoming solo album, The Messenger.

The album, which marks Marr's solo debut, will be released February 26 by Sire/ADA.

Marr will hit the road on a solo tour of the UK in March. Dates in the US and elsewhere will be announced soon.

[[ Keep up with Guitar World's NAMM 2013 coverage right here! ]]

The 12-song collection (See the track listing below) was written and produced entirely by Marr. It was recorded in Manchester and Berlin and mastered at Abbey Road by Frank Artwright, who collaborated with Marr on the re-mastering work for the Smiths' box set, Complete.

The album is available for pre-order at iTunes here. For more about Marr, visit his official website.

The Messenger track listing:

01. The Right Thing Right
02. I Want The Heartbeat
03. European Me
04. Upstarts
05. Lockdown
06. The Messenger
07. Generate! Generate!
08. Say Demesne
09. Sun & Moon
10. The Crack Up
11. New Town Velocity
12. Word Starts Attack

Add a Comment

Similar Guitar News

10 questions for Johnny Marr (3/4/2015)
Read more about 10 questions for Johnny Marr at 1: What was your first guitar and when did you get it?"My first guitar was a little wooden toy thing, bought in a haberdashery shop in Manchester in 1967, when I was four years old. ...
Fender announces Sherwood Green Metallic finish for Johnny Marr Jaguar (9/3/2014)
Read more about Fender announces Sherwood Green Metallic finish for Johnny Marr Jaguar at Fender has revealed that the Johnny Marr Jaguar - the most practical and best-sounding Jaguar we've played - is now available globally in ve...
Johnny Marr Announces New Solo Album, 'Playland' (7/22/2014)
Johnny Marr, the former guitarist of the Smiths, Modest Mouse and the Cribs, has announced a new solo album, Playland. The album, which is set for an October 7 release via Warner Music Group, is available for pre-order now on iTunes and Amazon. ...
Johnny Marr planning autobiography (11/18/2013)
Read more about Johnny Marr planning autobiography at Guitar hero Johnny Marr has revealed that he's planning to write an autobiography and that he's already made an agreement with a publisher for the rights to the book.Speaking i...
Dear Guitar Hero: Johnny Marr Talks Guitars, 'Inception' Soundtrack, Working with John Frusciante and More (10/31/2013)
From the July 2012 issue of GW: He forged new rock paths with the Smiths, released a successful new solo album and just got his own signature edition guitar. But what Guitar World readers really want to know is ... You’ve had many amazing haircu...
Johnny Marr Announces 18-Date North American Tour (2/6/2013)
Johnny Marr has announced an 18-date North American tour in support of his new album, The Messenger, which will be released February 26 on Sire/ADA. The album was written and produced entirely by Marr. The former Smiths guitarist will kick thin...
Johnny Marr Releases "The Messenger" Music Video (11/13/2012)
Johnny Marr has released an official music video for the title track off his debut album, The Messenger. Watch it below. Best known for his pioneering work in The Smiths, Marr has worked with countless bands and artists over the last two decades...
Johnny Marr to Release Debut Solo Album in 2013 (11/5/2012)
Guitarist Johnny Marr has announced the release of his first-ever solo album for 2013. The Messenger is due out on February 26 via Sure/ADA. Best known for his pioneering work in the Smiths, Marr has worked with countless bands and artists over ...
Fender Introduces Johnny Marr Signature Jaguar (1/4/2012)
Scottsdale, AZ (January 4, 2012) — Fender is very proud to introduce the Johnny Marr signature Jaguar guitar, which puts the inventive ringing sounds and highly distinctive design mods of one of the U.K.’s greatest modern-era guitarists into a t...