Release Date Set for Jeff Buckley Live Album, Concert Video

Buckley live material due in stores in May
Posted Mar 3, 2000 at 12:00am
A dual release of Jeff Buckley material will drop on fans this summer. On May 9, Columbia Records plans to release Mystery White Boy, a collection of live Buckley performances from 1994 to 1996 and Live in Chicago, a video of a full-length performance.

Produced by Buckley's mother, Mary Guibert, along with touring guitarist Michael Tighe, Mystery White Boy boasts the broad spectrum of material that made Buckley's performances so striking: from previously unreleased originals to inspired covers to some reinterpreted tracks from Grace, the only full-length album recorded and released by Buckley before he drowned in the Mississippi River in May of 1997 at age thirty.

The video features the same range of material over thirteen tracks, including covers by the likes of Nina Simone and MC5, recorded in Chicago's Cabaret Metro in May 1995. The DVD for Live in Chicago also includes two additional acoustic songs ("So Real" and "Last Goodbye") performed by Buckley in the studio.

"Live performance activated the strongest elements of Jeff's gift," Tighe said. "He thrived on the energy focused on him and reciprocated it again and again. He loved surpassing expectations. He was an amazing spontaneous creator."

Mystery White Boy is composed of tracks from seven performances in Germany, Australia, France, Seattle and San Francisco. The track listing is as follows:

1. "Dream Brother"
2. "I Woke Up in a Strange Place"
3. "Mojo Pin"
4. "Lilac Wine"
5. "What Will You Say"
6. "Last Goodbye"
7. "Eternal Life"
8. "Grace"
9. "Mood Swing Whiskey"
10. "The Man That Got Away"
11. "Kanga Roo"
12. "Hallelujah/I Know It's Over"

Written by ANDREW DANSBY for News

Add a Comment

Similar Guitar News

"Mystery White Boy" Jeff Buckley Lives On (5/17/2000)
Jeff Buckley's mom hits the road to keep her son's music alive