Respond to This

Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

Hello all and a Happy new year.
I've just bought a New Marshall 50w 1987 reissue head and I'm absolutly over the moon. This amp sunds fantastic with my MIA Tele and Epi Sheraton thats kitted out with P-90's.
My tonal quest for perfection is nearly complete, all I need now is a Decent OD pedal that'll give me as True as possible Valve break up.
I had a TS808, didnt like the tone..SHOCK HORROR, what else do you all like.
I'm looking for old type Brit grit at the stomp of a pedal.
Thanks in advance.
Steve
Responses (continued)  [ Pages: 1 · 2 ]

Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 10:34 AM

Inactive Member wrote:

Just a question as I'm not familiar with that amp, but I have always thought that Marshall amps themselves have a pretty good overdrive sound - if that's also the case with your amp, why a pedal?



Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 10:44 AM

John Anderton (1034) wrote:

You need the OD pedal to get that great Marshall sound at a lower volume.



Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 10:44 AM

Dick Reed (1927) wrote:

Hi Stefan,
Speaking only for myself here about the Marshall distortated sound or any good amp for that fact, you are right about why not use them. But, I find I have more tonal control with my pedals and I feel that the amp give's more balls to the wall effect, now thats ok if that's what you want. I must admit with my Marshall I really enjoy that once in awhile when I want to let it all out but I don't do that too much with the blues. I guess in all honesty I don't really want one more pedal to step on, that my sound lame but why add to the confusion, I'm going to use my pedal board anyway so I just stick with that and leave the footswitch from the amp alone.
DR



Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 10:59 AM

Inactive Member wrote:

I come from the opposite end - no pedals for me. I dial in the overdrive sound I want and for cleaner sounds, I roll down my guitar's volume.



Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 11:33 AM

Dick Reed (1927) wrote:

I go thru phases of no pedal's/ lot's of pedals.
I like a really clean sound but I like some grit in there too and can't always crank my amp that loud so the pedals are a good happy medium.
I try to not rely on the pedals for my sound but use them to add a little something to my sound.
Kind of like getting cleaned up for a date, a little juice in you hair , a little colonge behind the ears ETC. It's still the real you but you get to break the monotany with some different styles.
DR



Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 11:43 AM

Inactive Member wrote:

I know what you mean. I just find that for me personally, the variety I get out of a good guitar and a two channel amp is enough for me (ok I have to admit that I've got 5 pickups on my guitar - two humbuckers and three single coils).

But to be honest, I've also been using pedals from time to time (like a Wah, a booster or an overdrive pedal ... speaking of which: the Toadworks Death Rattle is a great pedal: two different overdrive sounds, a booster function and a true bypass).

Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 11:11 AM

Bernardo Pires (4599) wrote:

Hi Steve,
I really like the ibanez TS-9 pedal (tubescreamer). But there are other great overdrive pedals: fulltone fulldrive 2, boss od-3, mesa boogie v-twin and v1 bottle rocket.

As I said above, I like the TS9 more (as an overdrive/boost pedal). But tone is a matter of taste you know.
All the best
Bernardo

Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 12:09 PM

Rick Kelly (2659) wrote:

I luv the Ibanez TS9DX "turbo" tube screamer.

It has an extra dial that goes from ts9 - + - hot - turbo.

The TS9 is the stock TS sound we all know and love, and every notch up makes it "punchier" to me ears, but not more distorted, if that makes any sense.

Peace,
-Rick

Respond to this

Re: Wanted: Your Opinion on Best Overdrive Pedal.

1/7/2005 3:39 PM

Chuck Stensrud (13014) wrote:

I have the TS9DX, as well as the Marshal Bluesbreaker, and of all the pedals I have tried, these two are the best (I play mainly blues, but also classic rock). The TS9DX is about the most flexible pedal I have ever tried.

I mention the Marshall pedal because it's distortion is uniquely bluesy, which of course, fits my preference.

chuck

Previous Responses  [ Pages: 1 · 2 ]