Overall Rating: 2.5 (of 5)
Rating Votes %
0 0 ||
1 50 ||
0 0 ||
0 0 ||
1 50 ||
From 2 votes total
Rate This Lesson
Rate from 1 (poor) to 5 (best)
Send Feedback

Scales And Modes- My First Lesson

Trevor DeGaine (92) · [archive]
Style: Basics · Level: Intermediate · Tempo: 120
Pages: 1 2 3

Welcome to my first lesson. sorry if it sucks. Guide to the different modes: In a major scale, there are 7 notes. For example, the 7 notes of the C Major scale are C, D, E, F, G, A, and B. Those notes are also known as degrees. The degrees make up the seven modes of the scale(Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian). Now, as I said, the major scale has seven notes, so all the modes have a total of seven notes, also.

Here is a C Blues Scale, just for the sake of filling in space.

I just put that there for the hell of it, but just work with me here, Im a rookie. Alright now, we're gonna learn about intervals. If you dont know, an interval is the distance between any two notes. The distance of 2 frets is called an interval of a whole step(2 frets, or a major second.) The distance of one fret = the interval of a half-step(one fret, or a minor 2nd.)