Overall Rating: 4.6 (of 5)
Rating Votes %
25 83 ||
3 10 ||
0 0 ||
0 0 ||
2 7 ||
From 30 votes total
Rate This Lesson
Rate from 1 (poor) to 5 (best)
Send Feedback

Mode Workout

Jay McConnell (2030) · [archive]
Style: Basics · Level: Intermediate · Tempo: 120
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

A mode is a group of tones derived from a PARENT KEY, or PARENT group of notes. One group of 7 notes has seven modes because each time you could start from a different note, thus viewing the tones in a different ORDER, which is really important. Order makes all the difference.

Imagine you were looking at seven toy blocks, left to right, labeled C - D - E - F - G - A - B. The first block is the home or rest (tonic) and is the most important - it names the mode and is the final resolution of ideas. If we moved the C block to the end (DEFGABC), D becomes the tonic and all ideas resolve to D. This is a simple idea of how modes are formed. Each time a block is moved to the end, a new note becomes home, yet uses the same notes around it.

What's more is that each note in the group has it's own identity, importance and individuality.

Let's take a look at this model to help define what we are talking about.


  1. Ionian Mode ------ DO RE MI FA SO LA TI DO

  2. Dorian Mode ------ RE MI FA SO LA TI DO RE

  3. Phrygian Mode --- MI FA SO LA TI DO RE MI

  4. Lydian Mode ------ FA SO LA TI DO RE MI FA

  5. Mixolydian Mode - SO LA TI DO RE MI FA SO

  6. Aeolian Mode ----- LA TI DO RE MI FA SO LA

  7. Locrian Mode ----- TI DO RE MI FA SO LA TI

DO, a deer: Each new mode starts on the next tone, i.e. DO to DO, RE to RE, MI to MI, FA - a long,long way to run. Next page shows it with letter names for the notes instead of the solfege notes shown here.